Why You Should Get Your Master’s Degree Abroad

recite-nm7di4.png

What do you do when you still crave the country you left behind?

I studied abroad for a semester back in 2015 and fell in love. I fell in love with a city, a boy and a way of life. Within six months of leaving London I was no longer in love with the boy but still craving the way of life I had once experienced. I wanted to be exploring London in a rainstorm, hop on flights throughout Europe and get coffee at little places. There are few ways to go back to a foreign city in order to live there for extended periods of time and I decided that getting my master’s degree abroad was the way to do it. I graduated in May of 2016 with an undergraduate degree and my pockets full of cash, ready to explore my new life. It was a hard and thought-out decision but it is a decision I believe is the right one. I lost a lot, was scared at first, but have gained an experience (as well as an almost completed degree!).

Here are the reasons I decided to travel to Europe to get my master’s.

Cost

Graduate school in America can be costly! Yes, some companies will pay part of the tuition after a few years of working with them in order to help you get your graduate degree. Still, it is expensive. Many international schools cost up to 20,000 dollars less than your average American university! There’s also dozens of scholarships specifically created for international students and since there is a small number of students willing to go receive their master’s degree abroad there is less competition to receive these scholarships! Also, FASFA (Free Application for Federal Aid) is accepted in many abroad institutions and can help find the best financial loans for you!

Higher Education

Your professors are more likely to be from different cultures when pursuing a degree abroad. Europe is small and yet each country is unique. Each culture has something new to teach you. Professors, and fellow classmates, can challenge your way of thinking with their perspective of their own society. You also learn a completely new school system, from the way classrooms are taught to the different types of solutions you can find in each situation.

Resume Builder

When considering graduate school, many of my professors told me that if I wanted to get my master’s degree after school to put the degree off. Work experience is essential. However, when I explained I was considering going abroad all my professors suddenly supported the decision. Going abroad has you stand out to hundreds of other applicants who have the same degree as you. You have learned new solutions to old problems and can connect with different types of individuals, regardless of what country they are from and what language they speak.

Starting New

You’re young. You’re reckless. What better way to explore the world then going to school? You’ve already gone for one semester and you’re craving a new adventure. To live abroad for an entire year with a student and work visa (most universities provide both!) you’ll have your fill of adventure while furthering your career. You’re already graduating from you undergraduate degree: this is the time to do what you want. Travel. Be selfish. This is the time in your life to do what you want to do.

Going outside of your comfort zone is uncomfortable at some points but those who love to travel crave new experiences. What’s more new and unique then getting an education in a different country?

2 thoughts on “Why You Should Get Your Master’s Degree Abroad

Leave a Reply

